Not necessarily a bad thing

A somewhat popular commercial nowadays is the one by Kentucky Fried Chicken better known as KFC about their new snack box (at least I think it was KFC) anyway, the brand doesn’t matter.

(Has anybody ever noticed that KFC seems to be cranking out new products like hotcakes from hell? First the Christmas Krushers, then the Chili Lime (Chilime) Chicken, then the Double down burger, and now the snackbox).

Never mind all the parentheses. What I really want to talk about is the commercial. It was technically about first impressions, misconceptions, and people not having “everything”, everything meaning all the desired qualities in a person.

For those unfamiliar with the commercial I’m talking about I’ll try to break it down for you.

The first part showed three friends admiring a beautiful woman walking across the street in slow motion. And as they were gawking at her the camera pans down to her legs and show muscle tone that could put our local so-called muscle men celebrities to shame.

The second part showed the same group of friends looking at a guy doing pull ups but is then revealed to be petrified of puppies.

It then ends with one of the girls saying “You really can’t have it all”.

And that’s true, I agree with that for the most part but I’m going to have to disagree with the presented negative of the girl, which were her legs.

True they were surprising to look at, at first (my reaction being the same as the guys on the commercial) but then I got to thinking, is it necessarily a bad thing??

One thing I don’t quite understand about societal perception of beauty is that why women can’t look muscular?

I’ve heard comments that its gross and weird and unnatural and to be fair the same comments go for muscular men, you know the professional body builders. But isn’t it (and correct me if I’m wrong) the entire point working out?

Most people would say yes but not to the extent of looking like a bulging freak.

First of all, calling someone a bulging freak is wrong especially when that person can crush your spine with his thumb. Secondly, it seems pretty vain (not to mention useless) to work out and exercise for the most popular reason people work out and exercise. “To get a beach body”.

Ok, that doesn’t even make sense beaches don’t have bodies its sand and salty water that would make you a gritty, sweaty dude. Fine, you want a sexy body I get it, everyone does, but you still have to admit it’s pretty useless.

The purpose of exercise is purely physical fitness, and to a more spiritual degree discipline and self betterment. Any other purpose is tainted and probably a waste of time i.e. violence.

Physically, at least leg-wise the girl in the commercial was physical superior than even the guy. There’s a question on balance but that’s not the point. The point is, how can something that is clearly a positive become a negative?

There is a natural transcendence from weak to strong and a large difference between seeking perceived fitness (sexy body) and true power (physical strength). On a scale the pursuit of sexiness is the first and lowest pursuit, followed by health, then strength, then discipline.

Clearly there are certain societal hang-ups that prevent some of us from bettering ourselves physically. But I’m not here to solve them. I’m not a miracle worker. And to all the guys that think strong women aren’t sexy I pose this question.

What’s the matter can’t stomach a woman who can beat you up?

6 Tugon to “Not necessarily a bad thing”

  1. I think you forgot to mention the bacon cheese twister. I believe there is a commercial for that one. TV ads are generally misleading to me, not just because they tend to exaggerate the products, turn out with make-believes on research claims, compare their products versus other brands when there is nothing to compare about actually, and so on.

    Fitness is a very important aspect of one’s being but not to that extent I would go. Shame for the boys.

  2. How accustomed are we with the usual images of women as portrayed in the media that we raise our eyebrows to the physically bigger ones. However, the commercial you’re talking about, in my opinion, failed to emphasize the acceptance we should give to other people who are different. Reminds me of the other KFC shrimp-something commercial with the homosexual officemate. The ending shows a heartwarming group hug, right? 🙂

  3. Useful information, many thanks to the author. It is puzzling to me now, but in general, the usefulness and importance is overwhelming. Very much thanks again and good luck!I want to add your link on my site somanabolic.Please give me a response via email.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

